September 24, 2021

TPT News

Voice Of India


Share this story
Hiranmayee R
Hiranmayee R

Youngest Sports Columnist of TPT News.

The bowlers led from the front once again in the early stage of the season as Chennai Super Kings (CSK) secured their first victory of the VIVO Indian Premier League (IPL) 2021, beating Punjab Kings (PBKS) in Match 8 at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on Friday.

It was the battle of the kings – PBKS vs CSK. Match 8 saw them at loggerheads, and as always, it was quite entertaining. Which king reigned supreme? Who was the king of the kings? 

CSK, this time, won the toss and chose to bowl first. And, boy, oh boy! What an absolute cracker of a start! Deepak Chahar came in and fired right away, picking 4 wickets, that of Mayank, Gayle, Hooda and Pooran. And the skipper, KL, was run out by the fielding master himself – Ravindra Jadeja.

At the end of 7 overs,  the Punjab Kings were deep in hot water, reeling at 26 -5. Shahrukh Khan and Jhye Richardson were at the crease. They were the last hope; they had to bat till the end; the responsibility was on their shoulders now. But, just as they started settling in, Jhye was gone.

Then, it was just the bowlers who had to do the job, with Shahrukh Khan at one end. He too got out, at the fag end of the innings. PBKS finally ended up with 106-8. It was a disappointing performance with the bat. Special mention here to Jadeja, with a crucial runout and 2 catches. 

In reply, CSK had a slow but steady start. Ruturaj was struggling to time the ball. Arshdeep relieved him of this struggle in his first over. But that little roadblock was shrugged off by CSK. From then on, Moeen Ali continued from where he left off in the last match,  Faf played with a bit more caution.

Soon, Moeen got out after his quickfire cameo.  Raina and Rayudu followed in quick succession. Then, Faf and Curran finished things off. In the end, it was the Super Kings who reigned supreme. They were the ones who proved to be the king of the kings, after all. 

Brief Scores: 

PBKS: 106-8; Shahrukh Khan – 47; Deepak Chahar- 4/13

CSK: 107-4; Faf du Plessis – 36*;  Shami – 2/21

MoM: Deepak Chahar